Augmented Reality: What will we do?

For this week’s topic, we talked about Augmented Reality. This is nice because sometimes reality is a little bland, even with all of our current technology. Our instructor told us about an app called Aurasma which allows basic users to associate an image or video with a trigger image. I tried this out and I have a Hyundai logoHyundai Logo on my key ring which I made the trigger and I associated a picture of my car 2013 Hyundai Elantra(2013 Hyundai Elantra) with it. This is cool because it allows someone to get more information about something by aiming your phone at it. Now I never really paid too much attention to AR except for when I got my 3DS and they came with AR cards. (It never clicked in my mind what AR stood for until I had this class) Here is a brief video of someone using these AR cards with their 3DS https://youtu.be/gucrudbFJzc Aurasma is also used by businesses to add info or web links to logos. This is much more advanced than what I am willing to do with it now but it will definitely be in my mind if I ever want to do anything like this (advertising, for example).

AR is also starting to get more attention by Pokemon lovers with the announcement of Pokemon GO. This allows users to become real trainers as they travel and catch ’em all. Their phone would be used and AR comes into play when someone goes to a certain area for example and a wild Pokemon shows up. This is really interesting because people have been wanting to do this for years. I, personally, jumped for joy when I heard about this and I cannot wait to see what it is actually like.

One thought on “Augmented Reality: What will we do?”

  1. Nate,

    I love how you were able to make an Aura with your car key. I tried and it seemed like my device just was not having it. It was a simple one, but the way you explained making the Aura, made me feel like I should try again. I also enjoyed how you were able to bring in real life examples of what you would use Aurasma for. I don’t play many video games, but Aurasma seems like it would be a very good fit for that. Thanks for your wonderful insight!

    Like

Leave a comment